List of European holiday destinations you must pay to visit from next year

The way we travel to Europe is being shaken up from next year and anyone holidaying at popular destinations like Spain, France, Greece, and Cyprus will have to pay and apply for a new online “visa waiver” – or else be turned away.

From May 2023, a total of 32 destinations in Europe will require Brits to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver before travel. It will cost 7€ (currently about £6) per adult and Brits will have to provide information about their passport, nationality, parents, education, employment history, and drug use.

Personal details will be cross-checked against a series of security databases including Europol, Interpol, the Schengen Information System, Eurodac, and the Visa Information System. “Anyone posing a risk can be prevented from coming,” said the Maltese Presidency of the Council.

: Hull couple furious after free replacement cruise for holiday that went wrong gets cancelled

Due to Brexit, British passport holders are non-European Union citizens and will need to apply for ETIAS to visit any of the Schengen member countries where it will be required, according to the ETIAS website. Dimitris Avramopoulos, Home Affairs Commissioner, said: “ETIAS will work for all current and future visa-free third countries. It does not single out any country or region.”

Summer holidays in Europe will be changing for British people next year

Currently, there are 22 European countries that form part of the Schengen Area:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

The 7€ visa waiver will also be needed for some non-EU member states, non-Schengen EU States, and micro-states that are de facto part of the Schengen Area. These are:

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Monaco
  • San Marino

UK passport holders will not require an ETIAS to visit the Republic of Ireland. The EU says: “After filling in an online application form, the system will conduct checks against EU information systems for borders and security and, in the vast majority of cases, issue a travel authorisation within minutes.

“The ETIAS travel authorisation will be a mandatory pre-condition for entry to the Schengen area. It will be checked together with the travel documents by the border guards when crossing the EU border.”

Will this affect your holiday plans? Have your say and let us know in the comments below.

Read next: